Erfolg

Ihre Eingabe wurde erfolgreich gespeichert.

Vielen Dank!

×

History

 

25 years GHE – 25 years of export networking

ghe_vorstand_2011
Former Chairman Markus Braun (right) and former Vice Chairman Erhard Fichtner (left) at the GHE anniversary at Medica 2011

The German Healthcare Export Group (GHE) places great importance on personal contact with its member companies and on exchanging knowledge and experiences within the Group. In other words, GHE means networking at its best. A look at GHE’s history reveals how it created this extensive network of contacts from scratch over a period of just 20 years.

The beginning

The GHE was founded in 1991 under the name “German Community of Interest for the Export of Pharmaceutical, Laboratory, Dental and Medical Technology” (Deutsche Export-Interessengemeinschaft Pharma, Labor, Dental und Medizintechnik). At that time – which coincided with the Second Gulf War – information coming from the Near East was extremely sparse, and it was this very circumstance that that inspired Heinz-Jürgen Witzke (Beta Verlag) and Udo Pawelka (then “Sartorius AG”) to organise a group of companies that would focus exclusively on international exports. “We felt that we were not receiving sufficient support from German politics, and therefore wanted to get something going ourselves, so we organized a self-help group as it were”, explains Witzke, who is today Honorary Chairman of the German Healthcare Export Group. It didn’t take long for the idea of an export forum to take hold and for leading international companies, such as B. Braun, Eppendorf, Atmos and Dräger, to join the Group as founding members.

Strategic focus – The Near and Middle East

peter_hinze
Parliamentary State Secretary Peter Hintze delivers greetings from the Minister of Economics and Technology .

Initially, the Group’s focus was on individual geographical regions only. “Because of the war in Iraq, GHE originally limited its area of interest to the Near- and Middle East. This, however, changed quite quickly”, said Witzke. The meetings held in order to exchange information soon started to include areas like the Far East, Eastern Europe and South America. However, with all of these meetings, the practical benefits they would create for member companies always stood in the foreground. “Most of us where fully aware of the value of this exchange of information from our everyday jobs.”, emphasised Wolfgang Hünlich, formerly employed by Heraeus and now Honorary Member. Although, initially, the project did not involve any formal organisational procedures, these started to materialise quite quickly as time went on and led to the printing of stationary, the organisation of meetings and delegation of responsibilities.

A new beginning

This initial period of enthusiasm and promise was, a year later, followed by one of disenchantment. “During this initial phase, it quickly became clear who the Group’s activists were, i.e. who was committed and prepared to take on tasks voluntarily. However, apart from that, not a lot was happening”, remembered Stefan Ohletz, who is now CEO of the GHE GmbH. The most active members of the Group were therefore confronted with the question of how, and even if the Group was to continue, which led to the unanimous decision to continue and, this time, to do so in style!

A new name

The Group finally changed its name to “German Healthcare Export Group” in 1992. This was also the year that its members elected a board of directors and an advisory board, chaired by Wolfgang Hünlich. “We wanted to prevent any potential impasses and thus agreed on five board directors“, explained Stefan Ohletz, who took over as chairman from Wolfgang Hünlich in 1995.

The sharing of experiences

The, initially, rather casual meetings held by the Group became a lot more professional and the range of subjects under discussion was expanded to global export. These days, the Group meets three times a year to discuss current export issues and to offer its members and high-profile experts the opportunity to share their experiences of various export markets. However, even the venues used for the Group’s meetings have changed. Whereas, initially, they were often held in hotels, the decision was soon taken to hold them on the premises of their member companies – thus also enabling member companies to get to know each other better. Later on, regular meetings were also often held in various ministerial offices, including the Berlin offices of the Department of Trade and Industry, the German Office for Foreign Trade (gtai) in Bonn and the Bonn offices of the Ministry of Health.

In addition to the regular meetings, members would also help one another in selecting representatives in certain regions and share their personal experiences of various export markets on a one-to-one basis. This illustrates the fact that the GHE has now developed into a network of businesses that is based solely on direct communication between member companies.

erfahrungsaustausch_geschichte

Trade fairs

The GHE always intended to participate in medical technology trade fairs and exhibitions right from the very start of its conception. “Our first joint appearance at a medical trade fair in Hanover was only the first of a continuous string of GHE appearances at the most important of the leading healthcare sector trade fairs.“, explained Markus Braun (Meiko Maschinenbau GmbH & Co. KG), first chairman of GHE. For about 20 years, GHE has been occupying a large joint stand and adjacent lounge at the MEDICA in Düsseldorf and has also been making an appearance at the ARAB HEALTH in Dubai for several years running. Another important trade fair for GHE members is CMEF in China or Hospitalar in Sao Paolo.

Export partners

profil_ghe_bild1
Some 180 guests from different nations took part in the 25 years GHE jubilee congress 2016

GHE opened offices in Bonn and Berlin as a result of the increasing interest and number of enquiries from both Germany and abroad. With these offices, GHE is offering its international partners single points of contact that act as intermediaries between individual members.

Today, half of the GHE companies are active in the electronics and medical technology sector, closely followed by those dealing with and manufacturing medical commodities and consumables, physiotherapy and orthopaedic technology, operating theatre equipment and medical furniture. However, GHE’s members are also active in the laboratory technology, medical services and publishing sectors. Those working in the rescue equipment and emergency medicine sectors, as well as diagnostic, information and communication technology, complete its list of member companies.

A cornerstone of the German economy

Being one of the driving forces behind innovative technologies, the German medical technology sector not only secures and creates jobs, but also provides young people with opportunities for specialised training. It is one of the largest sub-segments of the German economy, internationally competitive and an industry of the future. Export turnover of nearly 9 billion euros, GHE’s member companies play no small part in this segment’s importance. GHE member companies’ contribution to this segment primarily relates to export and, with a joint export turnover of nearly 13 billion euros, they make up nearly 70 percent of German medical technology segment exports.

Outlook

The healthcare sector will most certainly continue to be a growth market for the foreseeable future – both nationally and internationally. Its further development will not only be influenced by population growth and demographic developments, but also by the rapid advances currently made in medical technology. The GHE Group has dedicated itself to contributing to increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of medical technology in order to improve the quality of health care across the world.

Newsletter

The GHE newsletter provides you with latest news on medical healthcare

Erfolg

Ihre Eingabe wurde erfolgreich gespeichert.

Vielen Dank!

×

Geschichte

 

25 Jahre GHE – 25 Jahre Networking im Exportgeschäft

Markus Braun, Ehemaliger 1. Vorsitzender (rechts) und Erhard Fichtner, ehemaliger 2. Vorsitzender (links) während der 20jährigen GHE-Jubiläumsfeier auf der Medica 2011

In der German Healthcare Export Group (GHE) sind der persönliche Kontakt der Mitgliedsfirmen und der unkomplizierte Erfahrungsaustausch innerhalb der Gruppe von entscheidender Bedeutung. Anders gesagt: In der GHE wird Networking im besten Sinne praktiziert. Dass dieses Beziehungsgeflecht nicht von Anfang an vorhanden war, sondern über 25 Jahre hinweg gewachsen ist, macht ein Blick auf die Entstehungsgeschichte der GHE deutlich.

Die Anfänge

1991 war die heutige GHE unter dem Namen „Deutsche Export-Interessengemeinschaft Pharma, Labor, Dental und Medizintechnik“ ins Leben gerufen worden. Zu dieser Zeit, die geprägt war durch den Zweiten Golfkrieg, flossen Informationen aus der Nahostregion nur sehr spärlich. Deshalb beschlossen Heinz-Jürgen Witzke (Beta Verlag) und Udo Pawelka (damals Sartorius AG), eine Gruppe zu organisieren, die den Außenhandel ins Blickfeld nahm: „Wir fühlten uns von der deutschen Politik nicht ausreichend unterstützt und wollten deshalb selbst etwas auf die Beine stellen. Wir haben sozusagen eine Selbsthilfegruppe organisiert.“, erklärt Witzke, heute Ehrenvorsitzender der German Healthcare Export Group. Diese Idee eines Export-Forums fand schnell Anhänger: International bekannte Unternehmen wie B. Braun, Eppendorf, Atmos und Dräger zählten zu den Gründungsmitgliedern.

Naher und Mittlerer Osten im Fokus

peter_hinze
Staatssekretär Peter Hintze übermittelt Glückwünsche des Bundeswirtschafts-ministeriums zum15-jährigen Jubiläum in 2007

Das Hauptinteresse galt zunächst einzelnen Regionen. „Wegen des Irakkrieges beschränkte sich die GHE thematisch ursprünglich auf den Nahen und Mittleren Osten“, so Witzke.  Das änderte sich jedoch schnell. Die Treffen zum Austausch von Informationen dehnten sich bald auf Gebiete wie Fernost, Osteuropa und Südamerika aus. Dabei stand der praktische Nutzen für die Mitgliedsunternehmen jedoch immer im Vordergrund. „Vielen von uns war aus dem alltäglichen Berufsleben bewusst, dass so ein Erfahrungsaustausch sehr wertvoll und hilfreich sein kann“, bestätigt Wolfgang Hünlich, damals bei Heraeus, heute Ehrenmitglied. Anfangs noch informell organisiert, nahm das Projekt schnell konkrete Formen an. Briefbögen wurden gedruckt, Sitzungen organisiert und Zuständigkeiten geklärt. Die Freude war groß, als zum ersten Treffen der libysche Sekretär des Allgemeinen Volkskomitees für Gesundheit, Dr. Zaidan Badr Zaidan, sein Kommen bestätigte.

Ein neuer Start

Doch auf die enthusiastische Startphase folgte schon bald die Ernüchterung. Bereits ein Jahr später war die Gruppe an ihrem Tiefpunkt angekommen. „Während der ersten Zeit kristallisierten sich zwar die Aktivisten heraus, die auch freiwillig bereit waren, Aufgaben zu übernehmen. Aber ansonsten war die Gruppe eingeschlafen“, so Stefan Ohletz, heute Geschäftsführer der GHE GmbH. Die aktiven Mitstreiter mussten sich deshalb die Frage stellen, wie es weitergehen bzw. ob es überhaupt weitergehen sollte. Gemeinsam fassten die Mitglieder den Entschluss: Die Gruppe muss weitermachen – und zwar ganz offiziell!

Ein neuer Name

Im Jahr 1992 folgte die Namensänderung in „German Healthcare Export Group“. Außerdem wählten die Mitglieder nun erstmals einen Vorstand und Beirat mit Wolfgang Hünlich als erstem Vorsitzenden. „Um zu verhindern, dass bei Entscheidungen eine Pattsituation entsteht, einigten wir uns auf fünf Personen im Vorstand“, erinnert sich Stefan Ohletz, der das Amt 1995 von Wolfgang Hünlich übernahm.

Erfahrungsaustausch

 Die anfangs lockeren Zusammenkünfte wurden professionalisiert, das Themenspektrum im Hinblick auf den weltweiten Export ausgeweitet. Heute finden drei Mal jährlich Sitzungen mit aktuellem Themenschwerpunkt statt. Mitglieder und renommierte Experten informieren dabei über ihre Erfahrungen in unterschiedlichen Exportmärkten. Auch die Tagungsorte änderten sich: Fanden die Treffen in der ersten Zeit noch in Hotels statt, fasste man bald den Entschluss, bei den Mitgliedsfirmen selbst zu tagen. Dies ermöglichte nebenbei auch das bessere Kennenlernen der Mitgliedsunternehmen. Später wurden auch regelmäßig Sitzungen in verschiedenen Ministerien organisiert, so etwa im Wirtschaftministerium oder beim Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin, im Bundesgesundheitsministerium in Bonn und bei der GTaI in Bonn.

Auch außerhalb der regulären Sitzungen unterstützen sich die Mitglieder bei der Vertretersuche in speziellen Regionen und tauschen ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen zu verschiedenen Exportmärkten aus. All diese Aktivitäten machen deutlich, dass sich die GHE inzwischen zu einem Business-Netzwerk entwickelt hat, das von der direkten Kommunikation der Mitgliedsunternehmen lebt.

erfahrungsaustausch_geschichte

 

Auf Messen präsent

Die Beteiligung der Gruppe an Medizintechnik-Messen war von Anbeginn ein Thema innerhalb der GHE. „Der erste gemeinsame Messeauftritt in Hannover war nur der Anfang einer kontinuierlichen Beteiligung der GHE an den wichtigsten Leitmessen im Healthcare-Sektor“, so Stefan Ohletz. Seit fast 20 Jahren ist die GHE inzwischen mit einem großen Gemeinschaftsstand und angeschlossener Lounge auf der MEDICA in Düsseldorf vertreten. Außerdem nimmt die Gruppe seit vielen Jahren an der ARAB HEALTH in Dubai teil. Die CMEF in China oder die Hospitalar in Sao Paolo sind weitere wichtige Messe für die GHE Mitglieder.

Partner im Export

profil_ghe_bild1
Rund 180 Gäste aus verschiedenen Nationen nehmen am 25-jährigen Jubiläumskongress Im Februar 2016 teil

Ein Hauptbüro in Bonn und ein zweites in Berlin kamen im Lauf der Zeit wegen der steigenden Nachfragen aus dem In- und Ausland hinzu. An diesen Standorten bietet die GHE ihren internationalen Partnern zentrale Anlaufstellen, die den Kontakt zu den einzelnen Mitgliedern vermitteln. „Wir arbeiten unbürokratisch, effizient und schnell“, erklärt Ronald Singer, erster Vorsitzender der GHE, die Arbeitsweise der Gruppe. Die internationalen Partner können somit darauf vertrauen, kompetent betreut zu werden. Systematisch hat sich die GHE seit ihrer Gründung als Exportpartner im Healthcare-Sektor etabliert: Etwa die Hälfte der GHE-Mitgliedsfirmen ist in der Elektro- und Medizintechnik tätig, gefolgt von Bedarfs- und Verbrauchsartikeln, Physiotherapie und Orthopädietechnik sowie OP-Ausstattung und medizinischem Mobiliar. Auch Dienstleistungen und Verlagserzeugnisse sind vertreten. Hinzu kommen Rettungsausrüstung und Notfallmedizin sowie Diagnostika und Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie.

Eckpfeiler der deutschen Wirtschaft

Als Wachstumsmotor für innovative Technologien sichert und schafft die deutsche Medizintechnik Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze. Sie ist einer der größten Teilmärkte der deutschen Volkswirtschaft und eine international konkurrenzfähige Zukunftsbranche. Mit einem geschätzten Gesamtumsatz von ca. 13 Mrd. Euro haben die GHE-Unternehmen besonderen Anteil daran. Der Schwerpunkt aller GHE-Mitgliedsfirmen liegt dabei im Export: Mit einem Exportvolumen von rund 9 Mrd. Euro repräsentieren die Mitgliedsunternehmen der GHE rund 70 Prozent des deutschen Exportvolumens im medizintechnischen Bereich.

Perspektiven

Auch in Zukunft bleibt die Gesundheitswirtschaft ein Wachstumsmarkt – national wie international. Dabei spielen nicht nur das Wachstum der Weltbevölkerung und die demografische Entwicklung eine Rolle, sondern auch der rasante medizinisch-technische Fortschritt. Die GHE hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, zur Effektivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerung in der Medizintechnik beizutragen, damit langfristig die Qualität der weltweiten Gesundheitsversorgung verbessert werden kann.

Newsletter

Der GHE Newsletter liefert Ihnen direkt und kostenlos aktuelle Nachrichten aus dem Healthcare-Markt